Edinburg - Texas A&M-Corpus Christi men's and women's cross country teams opened the 2010 season at the UTPA Bronc Buster in Edinburg. The meet was shortened from the original length due to rain which made for slippery conditions on the course.

The meet was originally scheduled for eight laps around the course, but both teams completed only four turns around before the relays were stopped due to safety concerns.

On the men's side, A&M-Corpus Christi finished in three of the top five spots with Daniel Barlow/Patrick Kimeli coming in first overall. Jacob Abrego/Ari Perez were third, Brandon Steed/Adrian Marquez fourth, Eloy Zertuche/Scott Vance seventh and Jason Garcia/Dallas Brown eighth.

For the women, the Islanders took four of the top five spots and six in the top eight. BreAnna Briggs/Julia Sambu paced the field coming in first, Courtney Johnson/Kristine Torres finished second while Sarah Kimiayo/Caitlin Arambula came in third.

Sheila Salil/Danielle Higgins were fifth, Melissa Jones/Shelby Nichols came in sixth place and Daniela Prado/Cecilia Gonzalez were seventh to round out the Islanders delegation.

"It was an early race which the kids had fun competing in tonight," said head coach Shawn Flanagan "With the rain we didn't get as good a look as we will next week at A&M, but everyone had a good time."

The Islanders travel to College Station for the Texas A&M Invite next Friday night.

Men Results-

  1. Daniel Barlow/Patrick Kimeli, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
  2. UTPA
  3. Jacob Abrego/Ari Perez, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
  4. Brandon Steed/Adrian Marquez, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
  5. UTPA
  6. UTPA
  7. Eloy Zertuche/Scott Vance, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
  8. Jason Garcia/Dallas Brown, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

Women Results-

  1. BreAnna Briggs/Julia Sambu, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
  2. Courtney Johnson/Kristine Torres, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
  3. Sarah Kimiayo/Caitlin Arambula, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
  4. UTPA
  5. Sheila Salil/Danielle Higgins, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
  6. Melissa Jones/Shelby Nichols, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
  7. Daniela Prado/Cecilia Gonzalez, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
  8. UTPA