Texas A&M-Corpus Christi women's cross country team won their third consecutive conference title on Saturday with the men finishing fifth overall in the team standings. Anne Ronoh finished first overall for the women with the winning time of 20:44.

TAMUCC placed seven runners in the top 30 led by Ronoh, who beat UTSA's Kayla Pratt by seven seconds. Freshman BreAnna Briggs was the second highest finisher for the Islanders and second best freshmen in the race coming in 10th to earn All-Southland Conference honors. Sarah De Los Santos was 14th, Faith Barlow 15th, Meghan Lemke 18th, Courtney Johnson 23rd, and Sheila Salil 26th.

"It feels good, it was something we all wanted to do and it is great to be able to achieve it. I was so happy that the whole team was able to step up and help us to victory. It's all about teamwork," said Ronoh. "Although I won the individual championship, without the rest of the team we couldn't have done it."

"I thought we had the best team race we ran all year. We had some people really come through for us this year. Annie Ronoh had a tremendous victory, Faith Barlow ran really well. Brianna Briggs came through and all the performances from the team," said cross country head coach Shawn Flanagan. "Up and down the line it was a team race and this is the best team race we have had all season. Anne is right on track, right where we were hoping she would be for a repeat trip to the NCAA nationals.

The Islanders were fortunate following a disqualification of Stephen F. Austin runner Stephanie Ganter. Course administrators ruled Ganter cut a corner of the course to move to second on the final bend. The overturn gave Texas A&M-Corpus Christi their third consecutive conference title as SFA fell to second as a team.

"I feel bad for SFA, it was out of the hands of the coaches and handled by the conference officials who made the decisions," said Shawn Flanagan.

On the men's side the team finished fifth overall, led by Patrick Kimeli finishing 15th and Jordan Valle 16th. Eloy Zertuche was 25th, Scott Vance 36th, Cutis Patton 37th, Daniel Barlow 39th, Arisel Perez 40th and Kirk Dalhiem 44th.

"Solid performance by the young runners on our team today, Jordan and Eloy ran solid for us today," said Flanagan "The future looks good with how our young guys ran today."

Women Individual Finishes

  1. Anne Ronoh 20:44

10. BreAnna Briggs 21:40

14. Sarah De Los Santos 21:47

15. Faith Barlow 21:48

18. Meghan Lemke 21:54

23. Courtney Johnson 22:04

26. Sheila Salil 22:12

Team Finish

  1. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 58
  2. Stephen F. Austin 82
  3. UT Arlington 105
  4. UTSA 115
  5. McNeese State 128
  6. Nicholls State 157

Lamar 157

  1. Texas State 173
  2. Sam Houston 235
  3. Southeastern Louisiana 237
  4. Central Arkansas 271
  5. Northwestern State 294

Men Individual Finishes

15. Patrick Kimeli 25:03

16. Jodan Valle 25:11

25. Eloy Zertuche 25:35

36. Scott Vance 26:07

37. Cutis Patton 26:10

39. Daniel Barlow 26.22

40. Ari Perez 26:23

44. Kirk Dalhiem 26:27

Team Finish

  1. Lamar 38
  2. McNeese State 65
  3. UTSA 86
  4. Stephen F. Austin
  5. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
  6. Southeastern Louisiana 162
  7. UT Arlington 204
  8. Sam Houston State 221
  9. Texas State 222
  10. Central Arkansas 288
  11. Northwestern State 342
  12. Nicholls State 358