The Texas A&M-Corpus Christi cross country teams participated in the UTSA Relays on Friday with the men's relays taking the top three spots, while the women claimed three of the top four spots at Olmos Park in San Antonio.

"Both teams showed some good depth," said Islander head coach Shawn Flanagan. "We had six men average under five minutes per mile and six women under six minutes per mile.

"For one week of practice, I am encouraged by how we performed. We have some people who will perform better as they round into shape, but it was definitely a good start."

The tandem of Ari Perez and Scott Vance won the men's 8-mile relay race in 39:05 – nearly a half-minute ahead of teammates Erik Burciaga and Kirk Dalheim who placed second in 39:29. The duo of Kenyans' Edward Kemei and Paul Keter placed third in 39:50. Eloy Zertuche and Blaine Gibson were seventh in 41:05.

The Roadrunner duo of Dana Mecke and Kayla Pratt were first in the women's 6-mile race in 34:02 just 13 seconds ahead of Anne Ronoh and Sheila Salil. Sophomores Courtney Johnson and Caitlin Arambula were third in 35:06. Cynthia Santaella and Sarah De Los Santos placed fourth in 35:36. Kristine Torres and Alex Bullard were sixth in 35:36.

The Islanders will next compete at the Texas A&M Invitational in College Station on Sept. 13

Women's Results (4x1,200m 2-person relay)
1. Dana Mecke/Kayla Pratt, UTSA 34:02; 2. Anne Ronoh/Sheila Salil, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 34:15; 3. Courtney Johnson/Caitlin Arambula, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 35:06; Cynthia Santealla/Sarah De Los Santos, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 35:36; 5. Baylee Holder/Jayde James, UTSA 36:14; 6. Kristine Torres/Alex Bullard, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 38:27; 7. Caitlin Wilson/Ashley Naumann, Texas Lutheran 41:37; 8. Libby Gonzales/Amber Martinez, Texas Lutheran 41:39; 9. Jackie Allen/Hillary Davidson, Texas Lutheran 41:50; 10. Sarah Patterson/Ravin McCallum, Texas Lutheran 41:54.

Men's Results (4xmile 2-person relay)
1. Ari Perez/Scott Vance, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 39:05; 2. Erik Burciaga/Kirk Dalheim, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 39:29; 3. Edward Kemei/Paul Keter, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 39:50; 4. Layne Nixon/Jake Orndorff, UTSA 40:07; 5. Ivan Garcia/Al Johnson, UTSA 40:13; 6. Albert Cardenas/Corey Vargas, UTSA 40:20; 7. Blaine Gibson/Eloy Zertuche, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 41:05.