Buckner, Simko Selected to All-Tournament Team

Buckner, Simko Selected to All-Tournament Team

Juniors Bobby Buckner and Todd Simko have been named to the Southland Conference All-Tournament Team, the league announced. Buckner was the team's third baseman, while Simko was one of two pitchers honored for their performance at last weekend's tourney.

Buckner went 5-for-18 with two RBI and three runs scored in five games at the tourney. His biggest performance came in the Islanders' walk-off win over UTSA on Friday morning. The Boise, Idaho, native came up with two outs in the bottom of the ninth and drilled an 0-2 pitch off the top and over the wall in right center for a walk-off home run, his first longball of the year. Buckner finished his second campaign in an Islanders uniform with a .298 average.

Simko was brilliant in his only start of the tourney, scattering three hits and three walks in a complete-game win over Lamar. The Arroyo Grande, Calif., native allowed just one unearned run and punched out seven in his nine innings. He also retired the only batter he faced in relief, coming on in the ninth inning of the Islanders' loss to SFA in the bracket finals. Simko set a school record with 10 wins in his debut season for Texas A&M - Corpus Christi, going 10-6 with a 4.31 ERA and a .249 batting average against.

Texas State won the 2011 Southland Conference Tournament with a 9-0 victory over Stephen F. Austin in the championship game on Saturday evening. The Bobcats earned the No. 2 seed in the Austin Regional, hosted by the University of Texas beginning on Friday, June 3. The Islanders went 37-24 in their 2011 campaign, setting a school record for wins in the process.

Most Valuable Player/First Baseman: Casey Kalenkosky, First Baseman, Texas State
Catcher: Jarid Scarafiotti, Stephen F. Austin
Second Baseman: Tyler Sibley, Texas State
Third Baseman: Bobby Buckner, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Shortstop: Christian Gallegos, Texas State
Outfield: Bryson Myles, Stephen F. Austin
Outfield: Luke Plucheck, Sam Houston State
Outfield: Bret Atwood, Texas State
Designated Hitter: Chris Andreas, Sam Houston State
Pitcher: Todd Simko, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Pitcher: Joseph Dvorsky, Texas State