Baseball to hold third annual Blue and Gray Alumni Game on Saturday

Baseball to hold third annual Blue and Gray Alumni Game on Saturday

Texas A&M - Corpus Christi's baseball program will host its third annual Blue and Gray Alumni Game Saturday at Chapman Field with a 2:00 p.m. first pitch. In all, 30 former Islanders will participate in the game.

This year's game will mark a change from previous contests as the alumni will be split into two teams.

"The alumni game is always one of the three or four highlights of the fall semester," said head coach Scott Malone. "This year's version is extra special since it is the first year we'll have the alumni divided into two teams and they will be playing against each other."

For those coming back to the island, it'll be another opportunity to get out and play at Chapman Field once more. This weekend won't be special for just the alumni, but also for the current players to interact with those who helped shape the program.

"The old players really get into and love the opportunity to lace up the spikes and get on the field again," added Malone. "It is fun for our active players to hang out with the alumni in the dugout and during batting practice to just talk and catch up.

Players coming back will get to see the growth of the program up close with the chance to see the improved facilities throughout the athletic department.

"It will be really fun this year to take the alumni players into Island Hall for the first time. These guys really support Islanders baseball, and to get them into Island Hall and let them see the new first class facilities that our active players have access to - it will be a proud day for the Islanders baseball program."

The two rosters have several former players who made their mark on the A&M-Corpus Christi baseball program and record books.

The Blue Team will be made up of Randy Aguayo, Zachary Garza, Bryan Gerondale, Jason Graham, Justin Griener, Jake Liedka, Jesse Maldonado, Jeremy Molina, Wes Nottebart, Martin Parra, Jonathan Reyes, Adrian Salinas, Bryant Sparkman, Wes Thompson and David Williams.

On the Gray Team will be Brian Anderson, Gus Aresmendi, Brycen Bell, James Burdine, Marc Carrion, Carlos Estrada, Stephen Flora, Clint Galloway, Brett Gips, Justin Grota, Jaime Landin, Will Norman, Jake Olier, Jacob Perez and Chase Williams.