Texas A&M-Corpus Christi juniots Matt Holland and Caleb Marx will compete for the Islanders in the 2010 Baseball America Home Run Derby Thursday night at Whataburger Field.

The derby is part of BA's Team Workout Day, during which all four Whataburger College Classic teams practice for an hour on the playing surface. Gates open at 4 p.m. and admission is free.

Oklahoma's Drew Harrison and Ross Hubbard, Ryan Duffy and Connor Powers of Mississippi State and the UCLA tandem of Dennis Holt and Matt Mosher round out the field. There will be two rounds of five outs. If a winner has not been determined after two rounds, finalists meet in a three-out tiebreaker, then two-ball sudden death if necessary.

Past Baseball America Home Run Derby winners are Chad Huffman (TCU 2006) and Doug Thennis (Texas Tech 2007). The event was cancelled in 2008 due to stormy conditions and last year's Whataburger College Classic began on Thursday night, so there was no derby event.

The Islanders open play in the Classic on Friday against UCLA at 6 p.m. They host Oklahoma at 1 p.m. on Saturday and close out the weekend with a Sunday doubleheader against Mississippi State at 3 p.m.

Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (pitcher Chris Ramirez)
21 Matt Holland, OF-LHP, 6-3, 210, L-L, Junior, Watkins, Iowa
26 Caleb Marx, 1B, 6-1, 235, R-R, Junior, Corsicana

Oklahoma (pitcher Tim Tadlock)
45 Drew Harrison, INF, 6-4, 238, R-R, Freshman, Waxahachie
28 Ross Hubbard, C-INF, 6-3, 222, L-R, Senior, Denton

Mississippi State (pitcher Lane Burroughs)
14 Ryan Duffy, OF, 6-0, 218, L-R, Senior, Malabar, Fla.
25 Connor Powers, INF, 6-2, 242, R-R, Senior, Naperville, Ill.

UCLA (pitcher P.C. Shaw)
17 Dennis Holt, OF-LHP, 6-2, 185, L-L, Freshman, Yorba Linda, Calif.
44 Matt Mosher, 1B, 6-5, 235, L-R, Freshman, Menlo Park, Calif.