Texas A&M-Corpus Christi senior Martin Parra was named second team All-Southland Conference at third base on Monday the league office announced.

Parra led or was near the lead in almost every statistical category. The Islander led the team outright with a career-high 12 steals and six triples and was tied for the lead with 43 RBI. He was second with a .319 average and third in home runs. He ranked amongst the national leaders in triples finishing the regular season 14th, while posting the fourth-best total in school history.

For his career, Parra was second in hits with 180, total bases with 272 and second in triples with seven. He was fifth in RBI with 99, fifth in doubles with 30, eighth in home runs with 16.

"As a senior, Martin not only had a good year with good numbers, but provided leadership on and off the field," said Islander head coach Scott Malone. "He was a presence on and off the field as a leader. He was more than just a good player. He is a great kid who is an example of the type of player we hope to have here."

Stephen Flora was named honorable mention at catcher. The senior backstop led the team with 41 runs and tied for the lead with 43 RBI. He was second with nine home runs and hit .309 which was third on the team.

Regular-season champ Texas State just missed sweeping the special awards and had six players on the first two teams. Senior first baseman Paul Goldschmidt was named the Southland Conference Player and Hitter of the Year, while teammates Kane Holbrooks and Keith Prestridge were named the Pitcher of the Year and Newcomer of the Year, respectively. Bobcat head coach Ty Harrington was named the SLC Coach of the Year.

Lamar's Eric Harrington disrupted the sweep claiming Freshman of the Year honors.

2009 All-Southland Conference Baseball Teams

First Team

Pos. Name University Class Hometown

1B Paul Goldschmidt* Texas State Jr. The Woodlands, Texas

2B Braeden Riley Sam Houston State So. Woodville, Texas

3B Lance Brown UTSA Jr. Richland Hills, Texas

SS Shon Landry* McNeese State Sr. Orange, Texas

OF Matt Otteman UT Arlington Sr. Lockport, Ill.

OF Michael Choice* UT Arlington So. Mansfield, Texas

OF Michael Rockett^ UTSA Sr. Sugar Land, Texas

C Taylor Freeman* McNeese State Jr. Carney, Okla.

DH Andrew Kainer UT Arlington Sr. Conroe, Texas

P Kane Holbrooks Texas State Sr. Fort Worth, Texas

P Eric Harrington Lamar Fr. Groves, Texas

P Nathan Long UT Arlington Sr. Fort Worth, Texas

Second Team

1B Nick Zaleski Sam Houston State Sr. Sugar Land, Texas

2B Brian Taylor Lamar Sr. Cedar Park, Texas

3B Martin Parra Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Sr. Austin, Texas

SS Jeremiah Sammy Lamar Sr. Markham, Ontario

OF Spenser Dennis Texas State Sr. Baytown, Texas

OF Jose Hernandez UTSA Sr. Anaheim Hills, Calif.

OF Tyler Sibley Texas State Fr. Frisco, Texas

C Ben Theriot Texas State Jr. Houston, Texas

DH Keith Prestridge Texas State Jr. Houston, Texas

P Erich Lehmann* Stephen F. Austin Sr. Fort Worth, Texas

P Sean Weatherford Sam Houston State So. Bryan, Texas

P Ricky Testa Lamar Sr. Mesquite, Texas

Third Team

1B Sean Meyers Stephen F. Austin Sr. Conroe, Texas

2B Ryan Hutson UTSA So. Round Rock, Texas

3B Jonathan Yerby Central Arkansas Sr. Winnfield, La.

SS Trent Grondin Northwestern State Jr. Round Rock, Texas

OF Tyler Link* Lamar Sr. Houston, Texas

OF Bret Atwood Texas State So. Katy, Texas

OF Lee Orr McNeese State Fr. El Campo, Texas

C Mark Wyatt Sam Houston State Sr. Houston, Texas

DH Ryan Brauninger McNeese State Sr. Nederland, Texas

P Ryan Robinson UT Arlington Sr. Southlake, Texas

P Jimmy Heard* Northwestern State Sr. Bossier City, La.

P Richard Folmer Stephen F. Austin Sr. Houston, Texas

* indicates two-time all-conference selection;

^ indicates four-time all-conference selection.

Honorable Mention – First Base: Justin O'Neal, NWLA; Second Base: Chase Lyles, NWLA; Third Base: Joe Urtuzuastegui, NWLA; Chris Dunkin, LU; Kyle Kubitza, TXST; Shortstop: Marshal Davis, UTSA; Tanner Hines, SFA; Jason Martinson, TXST; Outfield: Chris Murrill, NICH; Sam Merrill, MCN; Zach Gardner, SFA; Dillon Smith, UCA; Catcher: Stephen Flora, AMCC; Chad Comer, UTA; Designated Hitter: Beau Snodgrass, NWLA; Pitchers: Red Patterson, UTSA; Brian Borski, TXST; Chris Franklin, SLU; Ryan Boudreaux, SLU.

Player of the Year: Paul Goldschmidt, Texas State

Hitter of the Year: Paul Goldschmidt, Texas State

Pitcher of the Year: Kane Holbrooks, Texas State

Freshman of the Year: Eric Harrington, Lamar

Newcomer of the Year: Keith Prestridge, Texas State

Coach of the Year: Ty Harrington, Texas State