CORPUS CHRISTI – The 2009 Southland Conference Baseball Tournament, which determines the Southland's automatic qualifier to the NCAA Tournament, is set for Whataburger Field from Wednesday, May 20 through Saturday, May 23.

Tickets go on sale Tuesday, May 5 and can be purchased at the Whataburger Field box office, by calling 361-561-HOOK (4665) or going on-line to

Tournament passes, the best value, are $50 for all games of the double-elimination event. Daily adult tickets are $15 for adults and $10 for youth 17-and-under.

Wednesday, Thursday and Friday are broken down into two sessions, with two games in each session. Session tickets are $10 and $5 for the 9 a.m. and noon games or the 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. contests.

Southland Conference students with valid institutional ID are admitted free of charge.

There will be a minimum of 13 games played over four days during the Southland Tournament. Up to three games could be played Saturday, with the championship set for 6 p.m. to be aired on the Southland Conference Television Network.

Wednesday, May 20 9/noon/4/7; Thursday, May 21 9/noon/4/7;

Friday, May 22 9/noon/4/7; Saturday, May 23 9 a.m. (if necessary)/

1 p.m. (if necessary)/6 p.m. (championship)

There will be a minimum of 45 minutes between games with no game starting prior to its scheduled time.

Sam Houston State is the two-time defending Southland Tournament champion. The first conference tournament was held in Abilene in 1964. The event went on hiatus from 1969-92. In the 16 tournaments since, the Bearkats, Lamar, Texas State and UTSA have each won three titles.

Texas State, Southeastern Louisiana, UT Arlington, Lamar, Sam Houston State, UTSA, Northwestern State and Stephen F. Austin comprise the current top eight teams in the Southland's regular-season race. The Bobcats, Lions, Mavericks and Cardinals have qualified for Corpus Christi.

Two weekends of conference round-robin play remain.