Nathan Robinson, Hannah Schwarz Named Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Nathan Robinson, Hannah Schwarz Named Scholar-Athletes of the Year

FRISCO, Texas – A pair of Texas A&M – Corpus Christi student-athletes were named Southland Conference Student-Athletes of the Year on Monday, with Nathan Robinson and Hannah Schwarz being recognized for their accomplishments as part of the Islanders athletic department.

Both Robinson and Schwarz were three-year athletes for the Islanders, with Robinson transferring from Tyler Community College and Schwarz coming to the Island from Blinn Junior College.

As a senior on the men’s tennis team, Robinson helped the Islanders to their fifth consecutive Southland Conference title. The Abilene native went 11-7 on the court for Texas A&M – Corpus Christi his senior year, and was part of three Southland Conference Championship teams and one NCAA Tournament appearance. Robinson was also named the league’s Newcomer of the Year following the 2010 season.

Academically, he held a 3.96 GPA as a double major in finance and economics during his time at the University. He was awarded the F.L. McDonald Postgraduate Scholarship from the Southland Conference this past semester, and also earned the Dr. Robert McMinn Economics Award following his junior year. As a senior, Robinson was named Southland First Team All-Academic.

Schwarz has been the face of the Islanders softball program for the past three seasons, earning All-Region honors twice, and helping the team to its first ever Southland Conference title following the 2011 season. She led the conference in hitting as a sophomore, hit .345 as a junior and came back from hip surgery to hit .245 as a senior while trying to work back to full strength. She was First Team All-Southland as a sophomore and junior, while being named honorable mention as a senior.

Academically, Schwarz was a star in the classroom, garnering Southland Conference First Team All-Academic the past two seasons, and being named to the Capital One Academic All-America Third Team following her junior season. She finished her Islanders career with a 3.99 GPA in interdisciplinary studies and earned the Southland Conference Steve McCarty Citizenship Award as a junior.

Both Robinson and Schwarz were big parts of the Islanders Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, with Robinson serving as the President, and Schwarz serving as the Vice President during the 2010-11 academic year.

The Southland Conference annually recognizes the outstanding male and female student-athletes from each of the league’s member institutions. Student-athletes must be a letterwinner with a minimum 3.20 cumulative grade-point average and have completed at least two years of intercollegiate competition at the school from which he or she was nominated. The student-athletes were each selected by their respective institution administrators.


2011-12 Southland Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Central Arkansas: Seth Allison (Football) and Katie McGregor (Softball)

Lamar: Matt Johnsen (Men’s Cross Country/Track) and Lisa Topping (Soccer)

McNeese State: Ben Chretien (Men’s Track & Field) and Caitlyn Baggett (Women’s Basketball)

Nicholls State: Jordan Hanberry (Football) and Carolyn Noble (Soccer)

Northwestern State: Wade Williams (Football) and Kelee Grimes (Softball)

Sam Houston State: Travis Watson (Football) and Morgan Davis (Women’s Track & Field)

Southeastern Louisiana: Jordan Hymel (Baseball) and Kyle MacIntosh (Soccer)

Stephen F. Austin: Jarid Scarafiotti (Baseball) and Kylie Louw (Soccer)

UT Arlington: David Subirats (Men’s Tennis) and Courtney Zink (Softball)

UTSA: Phil Steinert (Men’s Track & Field) and Kelsey Jewasko (Volleyball)

Texas A&M-Corpus Christi: Nathan Robinson (Men’s Tennis) and Hannah Schwarz (Softball)

Texas State: Tyler Sibley (Baseball) and Kelsey Bernard (Soccer)